What is the blue symbol on the Indian flag?

The colours of the Indian flag A navy blue wheel representing the chakra is present right in the middle of the white band. The saffron colour indicates the strength and courage of the country. The white indicates peace and truth. The green band represents the fertility, growth, and auspiciousness of our land.

Why Ashoka Chakra is blue in color?

Many inscriptions of Emperor Ashoka have a chakra (wheel shape) which is also called Ashoka Chakra. The circle is of blue colour. It is said about its color, blue color Represents the sky, the ocean and the universal truth. Hence the blue colored Ashoka Chakra is in the center of the white stripe of the national flag.

What is called Tiranga?

The national flag is popularly known as Tiranga, which means “three colours” or “tricoloured”. At the centre of the white band is a wheel with 24 spokes in navy blue colour that indicates the Dharma Chakra (Wheel of Law).

What does Ashoka Chakra stand for?

The wheel is called the Ashoka Chakra because it appears on a number of edicts of Ashoka, the most prominent among which is the Lion Capital of Ashoka. Each spoke on the chakra symbolises one principle of life and also the twenty-four hours in the day, which is why it is also called the ‘Wheel of Time’.

Who made flag of India?

(or Pinglay) Venkayya
The design of the flag of India that was first presented in 1921 to Mahatma Gandhi, leader of the All-India Congress, was created by Pingali (or Pinglay) Venkayya. It consisted of the colours associated with the two principal religions, red for Hindus and green for Muslims.

Who hoisted the first Indian flag?

While we remember the leaders on this day, there are many such fighters who often go overlooked — One such leader is Bhikaji Rustom Cama, the fiery lady who unfurled the first version of the Indian national flag—a tricolour of green, saffron, and red stripes—at the International Socialist Congress held at Stuttgart.

Can we use Ashok Chakra in logo?

The Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950, restricts the use of the national flag, the coat-of-arms used by a government department, the official seal of the President or Governor, the pictorial representation of Mahatma Gandhi and the Prime Minister, and the Ashoka Chakra.

Why is there a wheel on the Indian flag?

The “Ashoka Chakra” in the centre of the white is the wheel of the law of dharma. Truth or satya, dharma or virtue ought to be the controlling principle of those who work under this flag. The wheel represents the dynamism of a peaceful change.

Why it is called Tiranga?

When the Indian freedom struggle was on, a charkha (spinning wheel) was placed in the white band to symbolise the spirit of swadeshi. This was the Congress party’s flag. But the reason the flag is called the Tiranga is historic.

What is the flag of India?

Flag of India/Country

What was India’s first flag?

NCC. The first national flag in India is said to have been hoisted on August 7, 1906, in the Parsee Bagan Square (Green Park) in Calcutta now Kolkata. The flag was composed of three horizontal strips of red, yellow and green.

Who is the mother of Indian revolution?

Madame Cama
Madame Cama is known as the ‘Mother of Indian Revolution’. She was married to Rustom Cama, a wealthy lawyer based in Bombay. Having worked as a social worker during the Bombay Plague epidemic in 1897, she became ill herself and was sent to Britain in 1901/2 for treatment.

What do the colors of the national flag of India mean?

The Flag of India is a national symbol and is locally known as the “Tiranga” which loosely translates to “tricolor” as a testament to the three colors that make up the flag. India adopted its current national flag on July 22, 1947, as the country was about the gain independence from Britain on August 15, 1947.

What does the blue wheel on the Indian flag stand for?

In the middle of the white is a blue wheel, called the Ashoka Chakra. It has 24 spokes and it stands for progress.The Chakra or the wheel also symbolizes the Power of the State governed by Dharma.

What does the color blue mean in Hinduism?

On the other hand, there are some groups which wear blue to ward off the evil eye. Blue is also the color of Lord Krishna. In religious art, the blue form of Krishna wearing yellow robes symbolizes the transcendent, infinite reality reduced to a finite being. Blue is also the color of the sky, the ocean, and ‘infinity’.

Why is saffron the national flag of India?

The national flag of India the top band of Saffron color, indicating the strength and courage of the country. The strip between the white is a symbol of peace and truth with Dharma Chakra. The lower green stripe fertility, growth and auspiciousness of the land exhibits. Built on the white strip cycle menstrual cycle says.