Who won Scottish League in 1960?

The 1960–61 Scottish Division One was won by Rangers, who finished one point ahead of nearest rival Kilmarnock….1960–61 Scottish Division One.

Season 1960–61
Champions Rangers
Relegated Clyde Ayr United
← 1959–60 1961–62 →

Who won the Scottish Football League in 1961?

The 1961–62 Scottish Division One was won by Dundee by three points over nearest rival Rangers. It is the only Scottish League title win in Dundee’s history….League table.

Team Rangers
GF 84
GA 31
GR 2.710
Pts 51

Who won league in 1960?

Tottenham Hotspur
1960–61 Football League First Division

Season 1960–61
Champions Tottenham Hotspur (2nd English title)
Relegated Newcastle United Preston North End
1961–62 European Cup Tottenham Hotspur
FA Cup winners Tottenham Hotspur (3rd FA Cup title)

How many titles has Celtic won since 1960?

Celtic have since gone on to win the Scottish League Championship on 51 occasions, including a run of nine consecutive titles in the 1960s and 1970s, the Scottish Cup 40 times, and the Scottish League Cup 19 times.

How did Third Lanark get their name?

Third Lanark was known as Thirds, The Warriors, the Redcoats and the Hi Hi. The last nickname was rumoured to have started during a match in the late 1890s, when a defender kicked the ball so high out of the ground that the crowd started screaming “High High High” and that nickname stayed with the club ever since.

How many clubs have won the Scottish League?

Championships. As of 2021, Scotland’s top-flight league championship has been won 55 times by Rangers, 51 times by Celtic. Nine other clubs have won the remaining 19 championships, with three clubs tied for third place with 4 apiece.

When did Dundee win the league?

1961-62 was a golden season for Dundee Football Club when they became Champions of Scotland by winning the Scottish League title for the first and, to date, only time in their history.

When did Dundee United win the league?

United reached the pinnacle of their league achievements in 1982-83 when they won the Premier League championship. The last game of that campaign was at Dens Park where all United had to do was beat local rivals Dundee to claim the title.

Who won the English First Division in 1959?

1959–60 Football League

Season 1959–60
Champions Burnley
Relegated Gateshead
← 1958–59 1960–61 →

Who won the First Division in 1959?

Wolverhampton Wanderers
The 1958–59 season was the 60th completed season of The Football League. This season saw the introduction of the Fourth Division….1958–59 Football League.

Season 1958–59
Champions Wolverhampton Wanderers
← 1957–58 1959–60 →

How many times have Celtic won 9 in a row?

Celtic are the only European club to win nine consecutive titles on two separate occasions, and in no other country has such a total been achieved more than twice (either by a single club or multiple clubs).

Who has more titles Celtic or Rangers?

The two rivals, who are collectively known as the “Old Firm”, have claimed the vast majority of league titles. As of 2021, Rangers have won 55 and Celtic 51, while no other club has won the title on more than four occasions.

Who was the Scottish League champions in 1961?

By November Dundee were five points clear over Rangers (who had two games in hand) at the top of the table but the next couple of matches would seriously test Dundee’s title credentials as they were due to play both halves of the Old Firm in consecutive weeks. On November 4th 1961 Celtic travelled to Dens and the match was an end-to-end thriller.

Who is the only club to have won the Scottish League and the Scottish Cup?

The only other club to have won a league and Scottish Cup double is Aberdeen, in 1983–84. Each Old Firm club has also won the Scottish League Cup to complete a treble seven times. In the 1966–67 season, Celtic took all three domestic trophies, and also won the European Cup to complete the only quadruple to date.

Who are the current members of the Scottish Football League?

Member clubs. Of the original SFL clubs, Celtic, Heart of Midlothian, St Mirren, Dumbarton and Rangers are the only clubs today playing in the successor Scottish Professional Football League. Every other club is either defunct or out of the League.

Which is the highest Football League in Scotland?

List of Scottish football champions. The Scottish football champions are the winners of the highest league in Scottish football, namely the Scottish Football League (SFL) from 1890 until 1998, the Scottish Premier League (SPL) from 1998 until 2013 and the Scottish Premiership thereafter.